June Showers Bring More Weeds

As the second week of the Heston experience comes to a close here in Gettysburg, the weather has been anything but predictable. Thunderstorms followed by extreme heat seem to be the weekly cycle here, and you never know which one you will get.

While my main job this summer involves working in the campus kitchen alongside Phoebe, I have also been working at the Sherfy Garden located in the battlefields. However, I have not had much luck when I try and go there. The first time I went there to start the long and boring process of weeding the garden, it started to rain. I continued to work, because what’s a little rain? After having this thought, the rain started to pick up little by little until it was a driving rain storm, and I was soaked. At this point, I had made some progress on weeding a part of the garden, and decided that it was probably time to go home and shower. Feeling accomplished with my first day of work at the garden, I returned home with my head held high. This feeling immediately disappeared when I returned for my second day of work and discovered that all of the weeds had grown back in the area that I had weeded. I began the tedious method of removing the weeds again. Just as I was starting to make some more progress, it began to downpour once again. Frustrated with how my experience in the garden was going, I packed up once again and headed home. On my third trip to the garden the sky was clear and it was finally a nice day, or at least it wasn’t raining. In the 90 degree weather I began to harvest some of the vegetables that are grown in the garden. I picked a bunch of kale, and radishes as well. After doing so it made me realize that weeding, and putting up with weather conditions is worth it because of the outcome. I brought the vegetables back to the campus kitchen where Phoebe and I made a salad for that night’s meal bags. It was really interesting and cool to see how the entire process works. Growing the food, harvesting it, cooking and preparing it, and delivering it to those in need is really an incredible experience. To be able to follow the process through all of the stages is something I really wanted to see and learn more about this summer, and I believe the garden has given me the ability to do so.

Jameson Smith ’16
Gettysburg

      

