Running in the Rain

I ran home today with a broken umbrella, getting completely drenched. A thunderstorm hit while I was in the middle of weeding at the Painted Turtle Farm this morning. This was the second time this week that I showed up back at the house looking like a drowned rat. It has been raining a lot this week, which adds in a little extra excitement when part of my job involves working outside. I’m getting pretty used to running through rainstorms to try to make it back to a dry place.

My first day at the Painted Turtle Farm was really fun even though it ended in soggy clothing. I got to harvest kale, radishes, and chives for the CSA shares. I actually really enjoyed picking the radishes and seeing all of the weird shapes and sizes that they were. Later that evening migrant families came to the farm to work on their plots. Beforehand, I had to translate an article for them about pesticides. This task was really challenging because my agriculture and insect vocabulary is not very expansive in Spanish. I referred to my Spanish/English Dictionary more than a few times. On the bright side, I learned a ton of new Spanish words this week.

I got to talk to a few of the family members while we were working on the Painted Turtle Farm. I was really surprised when I began talking to a woman and she really opened up about her life. She shared a lot of emotional memories and we had a really special conversation in Spanish. I’m excited to get to know more of the families because I feel as though I can learn so much from them and I think I will be able to make some new friends out of this.

This week I also started teaching ESL classes. I spent lots of time finding worksheets and coming up with activities to do with the students, but on the first day only one student showed up. On one side it was nice because I got to ease into teaching the class, but on the other side it was a little challenging to do the group activities because I was lacking a group. The second ESL class was better because we tripled the number of students that showed up! We had three students and three tutors come this time and we had a fun time doing the group activity where I tested everyone’s acting ability in a game of charades. We ended up staying half an hour after class getting to know each other more, talking in Spanish, and having a conversation about languages and more. Talking to the students made me realize how important these classes are to them. They really want to improve their English so that it can help them in their everyday lives. I really want to come up with lesson plans that will be very useful for them. I’m already planning future lessons in my head.

Sarah Beth Watson ’16
Gettysburg, PA

 

